Halloween in the Castro, etc.

Bevan,

As a Castro resident, I say leave the event alone! People who don't feel safe on that night, or want peace and quiet, should plan to stay indoors or be out of the area. It's only once a year for heaven's sake. If they can't handle that, they should move to the suburbs and bring a bit of sanity back to our housing prices instead of trying to ruin it for a quarter million people trying to have a good time.

And why is 250,000 people and one stabbing here versus 20,000 people and seven stabbings in San Jose *not* an indication that Halloween in the Castro is a successful event? Insisting that large-scale events happen without any injury or harm to anyone is not realistic and you know it. There will always be some problem behavior -- if the stabbing hadn't happened there that night because the party was elsewhere, the perpetrator could just as easily have stabbed somebody somewhere else. Maybe more people would have been stabbed without the mellowing effect of the Castro vibe on Halloween revelers. Would it be any less of a tragedy, simply because it didn't happen in our neighborhood? No.