RE: [lpsf-discuss] OFF TOPIC FOLLOW UP : careers and Schooling: A Lew Rockwell Article

Dear Everyone;

The other day I had posted a career guide article which received
some heartfelt responses. This article in todays www.lewrockwell.com
has Gary North a regular contributor revealing as he says some dirty
secrets about the college racket and careers and success on the job.

Ron Getty
SF Libertarian

http://www.lewrockwell.com/north/north303.html

Ron (and everyone)-

I'm no fan of the current college system, for different reasons; although I was a star student (1440 SAT, 43 AP credits, graduated in 2.5 years, major in Philosophy, minor in COmp Sci., overall GPA 3.9, within major 4.0... and I did work most of that time), I hit a wall of narrow, positivist conformity in grad school and dropped out of college in confusion. So let me be clear I'm not defending American universities.

But that said, Mr. North completes misunderstands- or opposes- the best reasons to go to college- to broaden the mind, experience the liesute that allows for the liberal arts, and be lifted above one's barrow prejudices and everyday interests. If you are primarily trying to social climb or make money, you shouldn't go to college- and colleges should stop serving such functions, and businesses should stop expecting college degrees. I gained immensely from my experience in a university, but not because of any direct job skills, but because my life is indescribably better for the degree it broadened my world. Education is constantly confused with training to earn a living. In all essentials I am in complete agrrement on this point with classical conservatives such as Leo Strauss and Allan Bloom; cultural liftists such as Paul Goodman and Allen Ginsberg advocated the same principle as well.